See all
See all

Jasper Stuyven wins the 112th Milano-Sanremo presented by EOLO


The Belgian rider beat Ewan and Van Aert on the line

The Belgian rider Jasper Stuyven (Trek – Segafredo) has won the 112th edition of Milano-Sanremo presented by Eolo, the first Classic Monument of the season. At the finish line on Via Roma, Stuyven finished first ahead of Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal) and Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma).


1 – Jasper Stuyven (Trek – Segafredo) – 299km in 6h38’06”, average speed 45.064 km/h

2 – Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal) s.t.

3 – Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) s.t.

4 – Peter Sagan (Bora – Hansgrohe) s.t.

5 – Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) s.t.


Speaking seconds after the stage finish, Jasper Stuyven said: “In the last kilometer, I tried to recover a bit before the final bend ahead of the finish. I managed to recover a little, and then I launched the sprint. I still cannot believe I have won Milano-Sanremo. After the Poggio descent, I saw there were still some sprinters so I tried to go all-in and anticipate the sprint. It was not a strategy I decided on this morning but rather my instinct. It’s amazing, I cannot find the words!



Follow us
# giro

Do you want to keep up to date on the world of the Giro d’Italia and of the other races by RCS Sport?

Sign up
for the
Giro d’Italia newsletter

top sponsor