See all
See all

Giro d’Italia 2022: one week until the start, entry list announced


The provisional entry list has been announced

Many of the best sprinters, finisseurs and GC riders will compete on the roads of the Corsa Rosa between Budapest and Verona.

With one week to go, the provisional entry list for the 105th Giro d’Italia, departing on Friday 6 May from Budapest, has been announced. Riders will battle across 21 stages of the Corsa Rosa, crossing the finish line at the Verona Arena on Sunday 29 May.

Among the riders wanting to write their name on the Trofeo Senza Fine, in the general classification, are three previous winners of the Corsa Rosa: Vincenzo Nibali (2013 and 2016), Tom Dumoulin (2017) and Richard Carapaz (2019).

Noted contenders for the Maglia Rosa will also include: João Almeida (15 days wearing the Maglia Rosa in 2020), Simon Yates (4 stages at the Giro between 2018 and 2021 and who came third on the final podium in 2021), Miguel Angel Lopez (third in the Giro in 2018), Jai Hindley and Wilco Kelderman (second and third in the Corsa Rosa in 2020), Giulio Ciccone (two stages and the Maglia Azzurra in 2019), Esteban Chaves (second in 2016), Alejandro Valverde (who returns to the Giro six years after his podium finish in 2016) and Mikel Landa (three stages wins and a final podium in 2015). Other riders for the general classification are Emanuel Buchmann, Hugh Carthy, Pello Bilbao, Guillaume Martin, Romain Bardet and Tobias Foss.

Leading the ranks is the Dutch phenomenon Mathieu Van Der Poel, who will be making his debut on the roads of the Giro d’Italia and playing his cards in the sprints too. Also competing for stage wins are Attila Valter (who wore the Maglia Rosa in 2021), Biniam Girmay (the first African rider to win a classic at Gent-Wevelgem in 2022) alongside former Giro stage winners Alberto Bettiol (2021), Lorenzo Fortunato (2021), Davide Formolo (2015), Diego Ulissi (8 stages, the last one in 2020), Andrea Vendrame (2021), Alex Dowsett (2020), Josef Černý (2020), Enrico Battaglin (2018, 2014, 2013), Cesare Benedetti (2019) and Lennard Kamna.

With seven sections suitable for fast wheels, there will be many opportunities for some of the best sprinters in the world to compete for both stage wins and for the Maglia Ciclamino, including: Mark Cavendish (15 wins in the Giro), Arnaud Démare (5 career stages and the Maglia Ciclamino in 2020), Caleb Ewan (5 stages), Giacomo Nizzolo (twice winner of the points classification and one stage in the Giro in 2021) and Fernando Gaviria (Points Ranking in 2017).


Follow us

top sponsor