See all
See all

Van Aert wins the 111th Milano-Sanremo


The Belgian rider Wout van Aert (Team Jumbo – Visma) has won the 111th edition of Milano-Sanremo presented by Vittoria, the first Classic Monument of the season. On the finish line in Via Roma he finished ahead of Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) and Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb).


1 – Wout van Aert (Team Jumbo – Visma) – 305km in 7h16’09”

2 – Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) s.t.

3 – Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) at 2″

Speaking seconds after the stage finish, Wout van Aert said: “It’s unbelievable to win Milano-Sanremo after Strade Bianche. On the Poggio, I was at the limit. Alaphilippe attacked earlier than I expected and I couldn’t hold his wheel so I had to go and chase him down. He played it very well. Luckily I just had enough power left to beat him on the line. It’s a beautiful restart of the season for me.”


sui social
# giro

Do you want to keep up to date on the world of the Giro d’Italia and of the other races by RCS Sport?

Sign up
for the
Giro d’Italia newsletter

top sponsor