See all
See all

Simon Yates wins the 55th Tirreno-Adriatico


The British rider Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott) has won the 55th edition of the Tirreno-Adriatico EOLO, ahead of Geraint Thomas (Team Ineos) and Rafal Majka (Bora – Hansgrohe).

Filippo Ganna (Team Ineos) has won Stage 8, the final ITT of 10,050m in San Benedetto del Tronto.


1 – Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott)

2 – Geraint Thomas (Team Ineos) at 17″

3 – Rafal Majka (Bora – Hansgrohe) at 29″

4 – Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb) at 56″

5 – Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana Pro Team) at 58″


1 – Filippo Ganna (Team Ineos) – 10.1km in 10’42″05” average speed 56.636kph

2 – Victor Campenaerts (NTT Pro Cycling) at 18”

3 – Rohan Dennis (Team Ineos) at 26”


  • Maglia Azzurra (blue), General Classification Leader, sponsored by Gazprom – Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott)
  • Maglia Arancio (orange), Sprinter Classification Leader, sponsored by Sportful – Pascal Ackermann (Bora – Hansgrohe)
  • Maglia Verde (green), King of the Mountains Classification Leader, sponsored by Enel – Hector Carretero (Movistar Team)
  • Maglia Bianca (white), Young Rider General Classification Leader, sponsored by Sara Assicurazioni – Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana Pro Team)

Speaking seconds after the stage finish, Simon Yates, the winner of 55th Tirreno-Adriatico EOLO said: “I am so happy for this victory. The team did a great job all the week. I was not the favourite today so this results is even more important to me. I went full gas, but honestly I gave my best in every stage, it’s so great I took this win.”

The stage winner Filippo Ganna said: “I’m very happy with my performance, I’m a bit sorry for Thomas who finished second in the CG, we hope he can do something more in the Giro d’Italia.”

sui social
# giro

Do you want to keep up to date on the world of the Giro d’Italia and of the other races by RCS Sport?

Sign up
for the
Giro d’Italia newsletter

top sponsor