See all
See all

Merlier wins stage 6 of the Tirreno-Adriatico, S. Yates retains the Maglia Azzurra


Tim Merlier (Alpecin – Fenix) has won Stage 6 of the 55th edition of the Tirreno-Adriatico EOLO, 171km from Castelfidardo to Senigallia, ahead of Pascal Ackermann (Bora – Hansgrohe) and Magnus Cort Nielsen (EF Pro Cycling). Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott) retains the Maglia Azzurra of leader of the GC.


1 – Tim Merlier (Alpecin – Fenix) 171km in 3h59’30”, average speed 42.839kph

2 – Pascal Ackermann (Bora – Hansgrohe) s.t.

3 – Magnus Cort Nielsen (EF Pro Cycling) s.t.


1 – Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott)

2 – Rafal Majka (Bora – Hansgrohe) at 16″

3 – Geraint Thomas (Team Ineos) at 39″

4 – Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana Pro Team) at 49″

5 – Fausto Masnada (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) at 54″


  • Maglia Azzurra (blue), General Classification Leader, sponsored by Gazprom – Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott)
  • Maglia Arancio (orange), Sprinter Classification Leader, sponsored by Sportful – Pascal Ackermann (Bora – Hansgrohe)
  • Maglia Verde (green), King of the Mountains Classification Leader, sponsored by Enel – Hector Carretero (Movistar Team)
  • Maglia Bianca (white), Young Rider General Classification Leader, sponsored by Sara Assicurazioni – Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana Pro Team)

Speaking seconds after the stage finish, the stage winner Tim Merlier, said: “The team brought me perfectly to the sprint, we took the left side of the sprint, the one most exposed to the wind but it proved to the right choice. The last few stages have been hard for me with so many climbs, I am happy I can finally celebrate today!”

Simon Yates, the Maglia Azzurra, said: “There was a lot of headwind in the final kilometers, it was a messy sprint. Luckily it all went well for me. Tomorrow it could be a more challenging stage but we have a strong team to defend the Maglia Azzurra.”

sui social
# giro

Do you want to keep up to date on the world of the Giro d’Italia and of the other races by RCS Sport?

Sign up
for the
Giro d’Italia newsletter

top sponsor