See all
See all

Giro d’Italia Awards 2021: The Best Sprint


The award for the Best Sprint at the 2021 Giro goes to an unconventional sprinter, for an unusual stage finish: Peter Sagan in Foligno.

We might say that Sagan had started outlining his stage victory many kilometres before. When he asked his team to start pushing hard for him on the categorised Valico della Somma, pure sprinters such as Groenewegen, Merlier and Nizzolo had to step down.

As just a shrunken peloton was left to contend the finish, Bora‑Hansgrohe was still prominent at the front at the last km marker. One of Viviani’s teammates launched the final sprint, but Viviani himself was trapped at the back of the peloton.

Molano then tried to lead out for Gaviria, but Gaviria could not follow. That was exactly the chance Sagan was waiting for. Taking advantage of Molano’s lead‑out, and capitalising on the amazing job of his teammates, the Slovakian pulled away, powering through the final bend and all the way to the finish line in Foligno.

Peter Sagan, the most unconventional sprinter of worldwide cycling, receives the award for the Best Sprint at the 2021 Giro.

Follow us

top sponsor