See all
See all

Ben Healy won Stage 8 of the 2023 Giro d’Italia!


Ben Healy (EF Education-Easy Post) has won Stage 8 of the 106th Giro d’Italia, the 207km long Terni-Fossombrone. Derek Gee (Israel – Premier Tech) and Filippo Zana (Team Jayco AlUla) finished second and third respectively.

Andreas Leknessund (Team DSM) retains the Maglia Rosa.

1 – Ben Healy (EF Education-Easy Post) – 207 km in 4h’44’24″, average speed 43.671 km/h
2 – Derek Gee (Israel – Premier Tech) at 1’49”
3 – Filippo Zana (Team Jayco AlUla) s.t.

GENERAL CLASSIFICATION1 – Andreas Leknessund (Team DSM)2 – Remco Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step) at 8″3 – Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) at 38″

THE OFFICIAL JERSEYSThe leader jerseys of the Giro d’Italia are designed by CASTELLI and produced with SITIP recycled fabrics.

  • Maglia Rosa, leader of the General Classification, sponsored by Enel – Andreas Leknessund (Team DSM)
  • Maglia Ciclamino, leader of the Points Classification, sponsored by Agenzia ICE with the brand – Jonathan Milan (Bahrain – Victorious)
  • Maglia Azzurra, leader of the Gran Premio della Montagna, sponsored by Banca Mediolanum – Davide Bais (Eolo-Kometa Cycling Team)
  • Maglia Bianca, Best Young Rider, sponsored by Intimissimi Uomo – Andreas Leknessund (Team DSM) 

Speaking seconds after the stage finish, the stage winner Ben Healy said: “I went from far out but I thought this was the right move. I didn’t want to lose my chance to win. I had good legs all along. This is a good day. It’s a massive win for the team and myself. I’ve always been successful in Italy, even before I turned pro. Racing here suits me well and hopefully there’s more to come.”

The Maglia Rosa Andreas Leknessund said: “It’s a relief to retain the Maglia Rosa after such a strong effort at the end. It was the fight I expected in the last climb. I probably wouldn’t have raced like that if I wasn’t wearing the Maglia Rosa. It’s also thanks to my team.”

Follow us
# giro

Do you want to keep up to date on the world of the Giro d’Italia and of the other races by RCS Sport?

Sign up
for the
Giro d’Italia newsletter

top sponsor