See all
See all

Giro d’Italia 2022: The start list has been announced


176 riders will be involved in the 21 stages, starting tomorrow. In the cast, which includes three previous winners of the Corsa Rosa, are many contenders for the Trofeo Senza Fine.

The start list

Budapest, May 5, 2022  There are just over 24 hours to go until the start of the 105th Giro d’Italia which will begin with the 195km Budapest-Visegrád route and end on May 29 in the splendid scenario of the Arena di Verona. The list of 176 riders who will battle over the 21 stages, and includes big names, both regarded as favorites in the final GC and as stage hunters and sprinters, was announced today.


Among the riders starting tomorrow from Budapest are three riders who have previously won the Trofeo Senza Fine. These include Vincenzo Nibali (winner of the Corsa Rosa in 2013 and 2016), Tom Dumoulin (2017) and Richard Carapaz (2019).

Among the main contenders for the Maglia Rosa are: João Almeida, Simon Yates, Miguel Angel López, Alejandro Valverde, Giulio Ciccone, Jai Hindley, Mikel Landa, Wilco Kelderman, Romain Bardet, Domenico Pozzovivo, Emanuel Buchmann, Hugh Carthy, Pello Bilbao, Guillaume Martin, Bauke Mollema and Tobias Foss.


There are great expectations for the Dutch Mathieu Van der Poel, who will make his debut in the Corsa Rosa. The winner of the 2022 Tour of Flanders, and the rider who also made the podium at the Milano-Sanremo this year, will be one of the most important names at the start of Budapest. Attila Valter, who wore the Maglia Rosa in 2021, Biniam Girmay, winner of this year’s Gent-Wevelgem, and Diego Ulissi, who has 8 Giro stages in his palmares, are among the many riders who will be looking for a stage win at the Corsa Rosa.

Andrea Vendrame, Jan Tratnik, Lorenzo Fortunato, Lennard Kamna, Davide Ballerini, Alessandro Covi, Thomas De Gendt, Iván Ramiro Sosa, Davide Formolo, Jhonatan Narvaez, Vincenzo Albanese and Nans Peters are also expected to fight.


There are big names among the sprinters too, of whom we will see compete in the flat stages of the Corsa Rosa, for the stage wins and for the Maglia Ciclamino. Among the most awaited are Mark Cavendish (multiple stage winner among the starters of this edition, with 15 wins), Arnaud Dèmare, Caleb Ewan, Giacomo Nizzolo and Fernando Gaviria.

The list of top sprinters in this edition also include: Phil Bauhaus, Simone Consonni, Jakub Mareczko, Magnus Cort Nielsen, Cees Bol, Sacha Modolo, Davide Cimolai, Edward Theuns and Alberto Dainese.

Follow us
# giro

Do you want to keep up to date on the world of the Giro d’Italia and of the other races by RCS Sport?

Sign up
for the
Giro d’Italia newsletter

top sponsor