back to news

17 May 2018

Bennett wins Stage 12 of the Giro d’Italia, Yates retains the Maglia Rosa

The Irish rider Sam Bennett (Bora – Hansgrohe) won Stage 12 of the 101st Giro d’Italia, 214km from Osimo to Imola. Danny Van Poppel (Team Lotto NL – Jumbo) and Niccolò Bonifazio (Bahrain – Merida) finished second and third, respectively.

Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott) retains the Maglia Rosa of leader of the General Classification.

1 – Sam Bennett (Bora – Hansgrohe) – 214km in 4h49’34”, average speed 44.342km/h
2 – Danny Van Poppel (Team Lotto NL – Jumbo) st
3 – Niccolò Bonifazio (Bahrain – Merida) st

1 – Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott)
2 – Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) at 47″
3 – Thibaut Pinot (Groupama – FDJ) at 1’04”

Complete Rankings

Speaking seconds after the stage finish, the stage winner, Sam Bennett, said: “It was a tough final for a bunch sprint. There were two guys upfront. I didn’t know how much energy they had left so I went early because I didn’t want to let the stage get away from me. I didn’t know if I would hold the lead. It worked to my advantage. I heard that Viviani was off the back… then that he was back. I wasn’t sure. I just had to do my sprint. I think it’s a nicer win than the first one.”

The race leader, Simon Yates, said: “I guess these were favourable weather conditions for an Englishman. And also for an Irishman (Bennett)! It was a very difficult final. I think a few guys underestimated it, myself included. When Konrad and Dennis accelerated, I followed because I wasn’t sure who was trying to ride away. It all ended well.”


  • Maglia Rosa(pink), general classification leader, sponsored by Enel – Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott)
  • Maglia Ciclamino(cyclamen), sprinter classification leader, sponsored by Segafredo – Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors)
  • Maglia Azzurra (blue), King of the Mountains classification leader, sponsored by Banca Mediolanum – Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott)
  • Maglia Bianca (white), young rider general classification leader, sponsored by Eurospin – Richard Carapaz (Movistar Team)