back to news

2 June 2019

Carapaz wins Giro d'Italia 102

The Ecuadorean rider Richard Carapaz (Movistar Team) won the 102nd Giro d’Italia, wearing the last Maglia Rosa of race General Classification leader and raising the Trofeo Senza Fine. Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain – Merida) and Primoz Roglic (Team Jumbo – Visma) finished second and third.

The American rider Chad Haga (Team Sunweb) won Stage 21, 17.0km Verona-Verona ITT. Team mates Victor Campenaerts and Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal) finished second and third, respectively.



1 – Richard Carapaz (Movistar Team)

2 – Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain – Merida) at 1’05”

3 – Primoz Roglic (Team Jumbo – Visma) at 2’30”

4 – Mikel Landa (Movistar Team) at 2’38”

5 – Bauke Mollema (Trek – Segafredo) at 5’43”



Maglia Rosa (pink), general classification leader, sponsored by Enel – Richard Carapaz (Movistar Team)

Maglia Ciclamino (cyclamen), sprinter classification leader, sponsored by Segafredo – Pascal Ackermann (Bora – Hansgrohe)

Maglia Azzurra (blue), King of the Mountains classification leader, sponsored by Banca Mediolanum – Giulio Ciccone (Trek – Segafredo)

Maglia Bianca (white), young rider general classification leader, sponsored by Eurospin – Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana Pro Team)



1 – Chad Haga (Team Sunweb) – 17.0km in 22’07”, average speed 46.119km/h

2 – Victor Campenaerts (Lotto Soudal) at 4″

3 – Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal) at 6″


Speaking seconds after the stage finish, the overall winner Richard Carapaz said: “This is the biggest moment of my sporting life. In this final time trial I just suffered from start to finish until I reached the arena of Verona. It’s fabulous to win the Giro d’Italia.”

The stage winner Chad Haga said: “This is my first World Tour win but I started this morning believing strongly that I could win. I saved my legs these past few days. Watching Roglic and Nibali on TV, I had to convince myself that they were tired. It’s a huge emotion. I’m speechless.”