back to news

1 June 2019

Pello Bilbao wins Stage 20 of the Giro d'Italia

The Spanish rider Pello Bilbao (Astana Pro Team) won Stage 20 of the 102nd Giro d’Italia, 194km from Feltre to Croce d’Aune – Monte Avena. Mikel Landa (Movistar Team) and Giulio Ciccone (Trek – Segafredo) finished second and third, respectively.

Richard Carapaz remains the race General Classification leader, wearing the Maglia Rosa.



1 – Pello Bilbao (Astana Pro Team) – 194km in 5h46’02”, average speed 33.638km/h

2 – Mikel Landa (Movistar Team) s.t.

3 – Giulio Ciccone (Trek – Segafredo) at 2″



Maglia Rosa (pink), general classification leader, sponsored by Enel – Richard Carapaz (Movistar Team)

Maglia Ciclamino (cyclamen), sprinter classification leader, sponsored by Segafredo – Pascal Ackermann (Bora – Hansgrohe)

Maglia Azzurra (blue), King of the Mountains classification leader, sponsored by Banca Mediolanum – Giulio Ciccone (Trek – Segafredo)

Maglia Bianca (white), young rider general classification leader, sponsored by Eurospin – Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana Pro Team)


1 – Richard Carapaz (Movistar Team)

2 – Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain – Merida) at 1’54”

3 – Mikel Landa (Movistar Team) at 2’53”

4 – Primoz Roglic (Team Jumbo – Visma) at 3’16”

5 – Bauke Mollema (Trek – Segafredo) at 5’51”


Speaking seconds after the stage finish, the stage winner Pello Bilbao said: “I knew that Carapaz would try to give the win to Mikel Landa so I followed the best wheel. My first win was special. This second win is even better than the first one because it’s a big mountain stage. When the GC riders caught us I thought it would be hard but they were tired too.”

The race leader Richard Carapaz said: “We’ve tried to win the stage with Mikel Landa as well as myself to retain the Maglia Rosa but we’ve missed out by very little. However, we’re happy with how it went today. I believe 1’54” over Nibali is enough although anything can happen in a final time trial.”