back to news

24 May 2018

Maximilian Schachmann ‏wins in Prato Nevoso!

The German rider Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors) won from a breakaway on Stage 18 of the 101st Giro d’Italia – 196km from Abbiategrasso to Prato Nevoso. Ruben Plaza (Israel Cycling Academy) and Mattia Cattaneo (Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec) finished second and third, respectively.

Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott) defends the race General Classification leader position, wearing the Maglia Rosa but lost time against his rivals.

1 – Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors) – 196km in 4h55’42”, average speed 39.770km/h
2 – Ruben Plaza (Israel Cycling Academy) at 10″
3 – Mattia Cattaneo (Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec) at 16″
4 – Christoph Pfingsten (Bora – Hansgrohe) at 1’10”
5 – Marco Marcato (UAE Team Emirates) at 1’26”

1 – Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott)
2 – Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) at 28″
3 – Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain – Merida) at 2’43”
4 – Chris Froome (Team Sky) at 3’22”
5 – Thibaut Pinot (Groupama – FDJ) at 4’24”
6 – Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana Pro Team) at 4’54”


Speaking seconds after the stage finish, the stage winner, Maximilian Schachmann, said: “I couldn’t imagine more than what I’ve achieved in the Giro so far. After the first rest day, I suffered a respiratory infection. I recovered on the second rest day. We knew we had a chance today. I have to say a huge thank you to Michael Morkov. The breakaway was already gone and he bridged over with me. I was confident to win against my final rivals.”

The race leader, Simon Yates, said: “I just had no legs at the end. But it’s ok. I did the best I could and I’m still happy with the remaining lead I have. I’m still ahead so it’s fine with me.”


  • Maglia Rosa (pink), general classification leader, sponsored by Enel – Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott)
  • Maglia Ciclamino (cyclamen), sprinter classification leader, sponsored by Segafredo – Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors)
  • Maglia Azzurra (blue), King of the Mountains classification leader, sponsored by Banca Mediolanum – Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott), jersey worn by Giulio Ciccone (Bardiani CSF)
  • Maglia Bianca (white), young rider general classification leader, sponsored by Eurospin – Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana Pro Team)