back to news

18 April 2017


As previously announced, this year’s Corsa Rosa jerseys have reserved a surprise: the Giro 100 Points Classification leader’s jersey will be the classic Maglia Ciclamino (cyclamen), the colour of the jersey from 1970 to 2009. Segafredo Zanetti, a leader in the world of espresso coffee, is the new sponsor.



In the first five editions of the Giro d’Italia, 1909-1913, the final winner of the Giro was determined based on the Points Classification: at that time there were no distinctive jerseys for the leaders.


In 1958 the Points Classification was established as a separate competition within the Giro and from 1967 the leader of this classification started wearing a distinctive jersey to represent his leadership. From 1967 to 69 it was a red jersey (the Maglia Rossa – sponsored by Dreher), then it became cyclamen (the Maglia Ciclamino – sponsored by Termozeta) until 2009. Since 2010 the leader of the Points Classification has once again worn the Maglia Rossa.


  • The riders with the most final victories in the Giro d’Italia’s Points Classification are the two great rivals of the 1970s and 80s: Francesco Moser and Giuseppe Saronni. They each won the Maglia Ciclamino four times, followed by Mario Cipollini, Roger de Vlaeminck and Johan van der Velde, each with three
  • Francesco Moser and Giuseppe Saronni are the only riders to have won three consecutive Points Classifications: Moser in 1976-78 (plus the fourth in 1982) and Saronni in 1979-81 (followed by his fourth in 1983)
  • On two occasions Italian athletes have won the Points Classification for 8 consecutive years: from 1976 to 83, when Francesco Moser and Giuseppe Saronni won four jerseys each; and from 2001-08 thanks to Massimo Strazzer, Mario Cipollini, Gilberto Simoni, Daniele Bennati, Paolo Bettini (twice) and Alessandro Petacchi
  • Italian riders have won 33 of the 52 Points Classifications in the Giro’s history. The second most successful nation is Belgium, with 5 victories (3 for Roger de Vlaeminck and 2 for Eddy Merckx)
  • The athlete with the greatest gap between their first and last Points Classifications victories is Mario Cipollini: 10 years. Cipollini won for the first time in 1992, with a five-year gap before his second victory (1997), followed by another five years of waiting for the third victory (2002)
  • Nine riders have managed the General Classification / Points Classification double: Gianni Motta (1966), Eddy Merckx (1968 and 73), Giuseppe Saronni (1979 and 83), Gianni Bugno (1990), Tony Rominger (1995), Gilberto Simoni (2003), Danilo Di Luca (2007), Denis Menchov (2009) and Michele Scarponi (2011)
  • The youngest rider to win the Points Classification was Giuseppe Saronni in 1979 when he was 21 years and 257 days old. The oldest was Mario Cipollini in 2002 at 35 years and 72 days old